

News: For Immediate Release Additional Information Contact: Gene M. Ransom, CEO Office: 410-539-0872 x 3305

## MEDCHI HOLDS ANNUAL MEETING; SETS ADVOCACY PLATFORM FOR 2019

BALTIMORE, November 26, 2019 – At MedChi's 2019 Annual Meeting & Fall House of Delegates meeting earlier this month, an agenda of legislative, regulatory, and operational priorities for the organization were set and several of these issues will be included in our 2020 legislative advocacy platform. American Medical Association (AMA) President, Dr. Patrice Harris, was the keynote speaker and addressed the house on how the AMA and MedChi can collaborate to solve health care challenges. Several awards were given out to attendees during the meeting as well.

The Laughlin Award for Distinguished Member was awarded to Dr. Neal Naff for his contribution of his time and talents on behalf of his physician colleagues in Maryland. The Laughlin awards were established by longtime MedChi member Dr. Hank Laughlin and his wife, Page, and are presented annually to celebrate physicians, public officers, legislators, and others who contribute significantly to the betterment of Maryland's health care environment for patients, physicians and the public health.

There were several Presidents Awards presented as well. The recipients of these awards are as follows:

- James Elliott, M.D., in acknowledgement of his contributions on the Health Review Cost Services Commission and the Prince George's County Judicial Nominating Commission.
- Adam Kane, Managing Director of Corporate Affairs at Redwood Capital Investments, in acknowledgement of his contributions on the Health Review Cost Services Commission and the MedChi Insurance Agency.
- J. Richard Lilly, M.D., in acknowledgement of his contributions to the MedChi Insurance Agency Board of Directors.
- Teresa Healey-Conway, Executive Director of Anne Arundel, Howard, and Prince George's County Medical Societies, in acknowledgement of her efforts on behalf of the physicians and patients of Anne Arundel, Howard, and Prince George's Counties.
- Rafa Rahman, M.D., in acknowledgement of her effective and energetic leadership of medical students in Maryland.
- Gary Pushkin, M.D., in acknowledgement of all of his contributions on the MedChi Opioid Task Force

The meeting also included elections for MedChi's Board of Trustees. Dr. Michele Manahan became the new President; Dr. Shannon Pryor became the new President-Elect; Dr. Aaron George, D.O., was elected as Western Group Trustee; and Dr. Carolyn O'Conor was elected as Montgomery County Trustee. Past President, Dr. Gary Pushkin, has rotated off the Board of Trustees, but he will continue to serve as our very active Opioid Committee chair.

MedChi would like to thank everyone who attended our Annual Meeting and express our excitement for the upcoming year.

## About MedChi

MedChi, The Maryland State Medical Society, is a non-profit membership association of Maryland physicians. It is the largest physician organization in Maryland. The mission of MedChi is to serve as Maryland's foremost advocate and resource for physicians, their patients and the public health of Maryland. For more information, please visit www.medchi.org.